Agile Update – Week 23

Last week, again, was average. I really need to step it up and start getting more done. A Summer cold hasn’t been helping matters, at all, but still, I need to do more.

Last week I did get two posts completed on WordPress, one on Agile, and a movie review which I also posted to Blogger. I also wrote a post for Nix Studios, an updated post on How to Nest Categories in WordPress – check it out. I reviewed two books on GoodReads, links to the full reviews can be found in the GoodReads Widget on the lower right side of this blog.

I attended class, my first week learning Photoshop. I also started my homework in the lab, and finished about half of the assignments for the week. I also read at least three professional development articles on-line.

I did exercise once last week – 20 minutes of Yoga. I really need to get back into the swing of exercising 3 – 5 times a week. That might even improve my energy level.

I attempted to design an infographic, myself, using a free on-line tool called Pixlr. That didn’t go so well. I was very happy with what I did, but I showed it to a friend of mine who’s a professional in data visualization and he hated it. On the one hand, I don’t think the words “I’m new at this,” and “First EVER” really penetrated his head, when he told me every little thing I did wrong. But, on the other, I know precisely what it feels like to be an expert in new technology and have other people with absolutely no experience whatsoever pooh pooh your advice and insist that they know better. And while, I really don’t think I was insisting that “I know better”, at the same time I know I can give a bad impression – especially when I’m still smarting from criticism. And yes, I’m mature enough to know constructive criticism is helpful and the only way one will improve.

Leave a Reply

