Agile Update – Year 2 – Week 9

Last week? What happened? Well, for one thing I didn’t have any Internet Service for most of the week, which included the previous weekend, when I often get a lot of writing or at least pre-writing done. I kept thinking I should at least work on my Excel-Post-to-Come but every time I sat down at my computer I tried to do, well, anything, and I couldn’t really because my Internet was down.

We had a nasty snow storm, again, on Tuesday. Not wanting a repeat of the previous week when it took me over an hour to get home – I took my supervisor up on her offer to leave early and left work at 3:00pm instead of 4:30pm.  That meant I ended-up having to come in that Saturday to make up the time. And since I have a Doctor’s Appointment this week, I scheduled enough time on Saturday to cover for both.

And when I got to work, everyone from my department (well, all but one person) was there – and our Internet connectivity was gone. No one could do anything. I couldn’t even sign in on the on-line time clock. It gets worse. Without Internet – I couldn’t sign in, I couldn’t use the main program I use all the time to do my work, I couldn’t check my previous work – because it was stored on the Network Drive, which was down, I couldn’t work with Word or Excel – since we use Office 365 (the Cloud version) if I tried to open anything it crashed immediately, I could clean-up old stored mail in Outlook, but I couldn’t get new mail or send mail, and I couldn’t use Dreamweaver – because it’s “Creative Cloud” and you can’t even open the program without Internet. I tried. So, basically, four of us sat there, on a Saturday morning, with work to do and absolutely no way to do it – because our network access was down. This is the down side of “cloud” applications people! If I’d had access to my files, Word, Excel, and Dreamweaver – I could of at least done some work. I’ve had two other positions where if the Network went down, everyone sat there doing nothing – and it makes me wonder just how much time and money is wasted by the move to “cloud computing”.

Anyway, I got my Internet back at home on the Wednesday – so I was able to do some needed shopping. I also reviewed a graphic novel on GoodReads (see widget on bottom right of my blog). I also wrote my weekly Agile post.

I was not good about keeping track of my accomplishments last week. I did read every day. And I started watching Lois and Clark again. Since I finally bought Seasons 3 and 4, I wanted to go back and watch from the beginning. And I found to my dismay than the second episode on every DVD would not play. So I re-ordered Season 1 (got a great deal on it – far less than when I bought it years ago).  I watched Discs 1 and 2 over the weekend, and the new set plays fine. Reviews will be coming soon.

Goals:

  • Study for A+ 802 Exam every day
  • Exercise at least 3 days a week
  • Read
  • Post Excel Formatting to blog
  • Watch and review either “When harry Met Sally…” or “Superman Returns” (Or the “Man from U.N.C.L.E.” movie)

Basically, I need to get back into my good habits. The bad weather the last two weeks, and problems with my Internet at home have thrown me off my game. But I need to get back in there. The good thing about Agile is it’s a progressive system. You will have setbacks and challenges – but you have to face those and focus on the goals for personal and professional achievement.

Leave a Reply

