Non-Fiction Book Review – Behind the Sofa: Celebrity Memories of Doctor Who

  • Title: Behind the Sofa: Celebrity Memories of Doctor Who
  • Author: Steve Berry (ed.)
  • Date Reviewed on GoodReads: 07/19/2015

Behind the Sofa Celebrity Memories of Doctor Who is a essay collection put together to raise money for Alzheimer’s Research UK. A number of people relate stories about Doctor Who – some of whom I knew of (Neil Gaiman, Jonathon Ross, etc) some I didn’t. Some of the interviewees describe themselves as massive fans of the show, many having seen it from the very beginning in 1963. Others are newer fans, having started to watch New Who in 2005 or even later (one or two even started with Matt Smith). Others, such as Micheal Grade admit not liking the show. Grade’s interview is an interesting artifact – he seems to almost take pride in taking Doctor Who off the air then turns around and says New Who, particularly with Russell T. Davies at the helm was brilliant. In Grade’s mind, he seems to think he’s solely responsible for the success of New Who (newsflash – he isn’t).

Some of the essays in the book are brilliant. Most are interesting. Some contain fascinating stories and trivia. Several people with connections to Doctor Who are interviewed – but this isn’t solely a collection of essays by actors and other people involved in making the program. Some of the essays, especially regarding the book being a fund-raiser for Alzheimer’s Research – are heart-breaking.

What struck me once I had finished the book is just how much Doctor Who is a cultural touchstone in the UK – literally everyone is familiar with the show. They might not have watched it during the Classic Era. Or they might have only watched the program occasionally. But it’s familiar to the British people, and is a cultural well, since I don’t like the phrase “phenom” – touchstone. I had heard similar comments before – but I hadn’t really thought about it. I guess I saw the show as a classic but still an SF “cult” show – something the “cool” people watched and everyone else ignored. But it’s an everyday classic in the UK, and everyone is familiar with the show, the TARDIS, and the Daleks.

If you can find a copy of this book, do buy one. You’ll be helping a great cause, and it’s a good read!

Book Review – The Wire in the Blood

  • Title: The Wire in the Blood
  • Author: Val McDermid
  • Date Reviewed on GoodReads: 08/16/2012

I first heard of Dr. Tony Hill and DCI Carol Jordan when I saw the television series Wire in the Blood on BBC America. I’m still collecting the series on DVD and trying to find the books. Update: I now have the entire series, though there is still one season I haven’t actually watched since it aired on BBC America.

However, this is an awesome and unusual crime/thriller series, though not for the faint of heart.

Dr. Tony Hill is a psychology professor at a fictional British university — he literally wrote the book on serial killers. So when the Bradfield police are faced with a serial killer, DCI Jordan seeks Tony’s professional advice.

It’s been awhile since I’ve read this book, and I don’t want to spoil it for those of you who have not read it, but I highly, highly recommend it!